Genesis V, Bible Study 12.7.15


 

Synopsis of Bible Study 12/7/16

Delivered by Bishop Walker III

 

  1. Introduction
  2. Abraham is a dominant figure in Israel.
  3. He is the first of the patriarchs Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.
  4. He is the father of faith.
  5. Isaac and Jacob are important to the promise too.
  6. Abraham’s life of faith serves as a catalyst for the Covenant of God.
  7. The oldest male son was called the primogenitor meaning the status of being the first born child among several children of the same parents. It was the rule of inheritance of common laws through which the oldest male child has the right to succeed the father. – This simply menas, regardless of how many children a person has, the firstborn male gets all the inheritance.
  8. In Latin “primogenitor” simply means “first born”.
  9. Primogenitor is not a practice used in the United States today, but it is still used around the globe. Abraham had kids by his second wife Keturah too, but only Isaac would carry the blessing.
  10. See Image 1.1 for the complete chart of the Ancestors of Israel[1]
  11. The Life of Isaac

Isaac is one of the least developed patriarchs in history. Abraham’s life seemed just overshadow him.

  1. The search for a wife for Isaac
  2. In Genesis 23: Isaac’s Mom dies at 127 yrs old. As a result, Abraham is mourning over her. He is distraught and so is Isaac.
    1. Genesis 23:2 (NKJV) 2 So Sarah died in Kirjath Arba (that is, Hebron) in the land of Canaan, and Abraham came to mourn for Sarah and to weep for her. – Abraham purchased a family burial from the Hittites.
      1. Genesis 23:20 (NKJV) 20 So the field and the cave that is in it were deeded to Abraham by the sons of Heth as property for a burial place. Genesis 25:8-9 (NKJV) Then Abraham breathed his last and died in a good old age, an old man and full of years, and was gathered to his people. And his sons Isaac and Ishmael buried him in the cave of Machpelah, which is before Mamre, in the field of Ephron the son of Zohar the Hittite,
    2. Abraham sent one of his servants to go and find his son Isaac a wife. After seeing that Isaac was so miserable, Abraham thought that Isaac getting married would help him to get past his hurt.
    3. Criteria for Isaac’s wife:
      1. She could not be the Daughter of the Canaanites. Genesis 24:3(NKJV) and I will make you swear by the Lord, the God of heaven and the God of the earth, that you will not take a wife for my son from the daughters of the Canaanites, among whom I dwell;
      2. She should be a woman from the kindred of Hannah. Genesis 24:4 (NKJV) but you shall go to my country and to my family, and take a wife for my son Isaac.”
      3. She must be willing to dwell in the same land as they did. Genesis 24:5-8 (NKJV) And the servant said to him, “Perhaps the woman will not be willing to follow me to this land. Must I take your son back to the land from which you came?” But Abraham said to him, “Beware that you do not take my son back there. The Lord God of heaven, who took me from my father’s house and from the land of my family, and who spoke to me and swore to me, saying, ‘To your descendants[a] I give this land,’ He will send His angel before you, and you shall take a wife for my son from there. And if the woman is not willing to follow you, then you will be released from this oath; only do not take my son back there.”
      4. He journeyed to the birth country of Abraham. In Genesis 24:12-19 (NKJV) it says 12 Then he said, “O Lord God of my master Abraham, please give me success this day, and show kindness to my master Abraham. 13 Behold, here I stand by the well of water, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water. 14 Now let it be that the young woman to whom I say, ‘Please let down your pitcher that I may drink,’ and she says, ‘Drink, and I will also give your camels a drink’—let her be the one You have appointed for Your servant Isaac. And by this I will know that You have shown kindness to my master.” 15 And it happened, before he had finished speaking, that behold, Rebekah, who was born to Bethuel, son of Milcah, the wife of Nahor, Abraham’s brother, came out with her pitcher on her shoulder. 16 Now the young woman was very beautiful to behold, a virgin; no man had known her. And she went down to the well, filled her pitcher, and came up. 17 And the servant ran to meet her and said, “Please let me drink a little water from your pitcher.” 18 So she said, “Drink, my lord.” Then she quickly let her pitcher down to her hand, and gave him a drink. 19 And when she had finished giving him a drink, she said, “I will draw water for your camels also, until they have finished drinking.” – The servant decided that this woman was the one.
    4. Why did Abraham ask for Isaac’s expected wife to be a certain way? The answer is, the woman who would not only be Isaac’s wife, she would have to be able to take care of Isaac’s possession.
    5. Laban was Rebecca’s brother. Bethuel is her father’s name. The servant went to Laban’s land to find Isaac a wife. Genesis 24:29-51 (NKJV) 29 Now Rebekah had a brother whose name was Laban, and Laban ran out to the man by the well. 30 So it came to pass, when he saw the nose ring, and the bracelets on his sister’s wrists, and when he heard the words of his sister Rebekah, saying, “Thus the man spoke to me,” that he went to the man. And there he stood by the camels at the well. 31 And he said, “Come in, O blessed of the Lord! Why do you stand outside? For I have prepared the house, and a place for the camels.” 32 Then the man came to the house. And he unloaded the camels, and provided straw and feed for the camels, and water to wash his feet and the feet of the men who were with him. 33 Food was set before him to eat, but he said, “I will not eat until I have told about my errand.” And he said, “Speak on.”34 So he said, “I am Abraham’s servant. 35 The Lord has blessed my master greatly, and he has become great; and He has given him flocks and herds, silver and gold, male and female servants, and camels and donkeys. 36 And Sarah my master’s wife bore a son to my master when she was old; and to him he has given all that he has. 37 Now my master made me swear, saying, ‘You shall not take a wife for my son from the daughters of the Canaanites, in whose land I dwell; 38 but you shall go to my father’s house and to my family, and take a wife for my son.’ 39 And I said to my master, ‘Perhaps the woman will not follow me.’ 40 But he said to me, ‘The Lord, before whom I walk, will send His angel with you and prosper your way; and you shall take a wife for my son from my family and from my father’s house. 41 You will be clear from this oath when you arrive among my family; for if they will not give her to you, then you will be released from my oath.’ 42 “And this day I came to the well and said, ‘O Lord God of my master Abraham, if You will now prosper the way in which I go, 43 behold, I stand by the well of water; and it shall come to pass that when the virgin comes out to draw water, and I say to her, “Please give me a little water from your pitcher to drink,” 44 and she says to me, “Drink, and I will draw for your camels also,”—let her be the woman whom the Lord has appointed for my master’s son.’ 45 “But before I had finished speaking in my heart, there was Rebekah, coming out with her pitcher on her shoulder; and she went down to the well and drew And I said to her, ‘Please let me drink.’ 46 And she made haste and let her pitcher down from her shoulder, and said, ‘Drink, and I will give your camels a drink also.’ So I drank, and she gave the camels a drink also. 47 Then I asked her, and said, ‘Whose daughter are you?’ And she said, ‘The daughter of Bethuel, Nahor’s son, whom Milcah bore to him.’ So I put the nose ring on her nose and the bracelets on her wrists. 48 And I bowed my head and worshiped the Lord, and blessed the Lord God of my master Abraham, who had led me in the way of truth to take the daughter of my master’s brother for his son. 49 Now if you will deal kindly and truly with my master, tell me. And if not, tell me, that I may turn to the right hand or to the left.” 50 Then Laban and Bethuel answered and said, “The thing comes from the Lord; we cannot speak to you either bad or good. 51 Here is Rebekah before you; take her and go, and let her be your master’s son’s wife, as the Lord has spoken.” – After being blessed by her family, Rebecca left her land to be with Isaac.
      1. Genesis 24:66-67 (NIV) 66 Then the servant told Isaac all he had done. 67 Isaac brought her into the tent of his mother Sarah, and he married Rebekah. So she became his wife, and he loved her; and Isaac was comforted after his mother’s death. – Marriages were consummated, and it is often what is meant by the phrase, “going into tent”. As a result of Isaac’s marriage to Rebekah, he was comforted after his mother death. Isaac was 40 yrs old when they married.
    6. Just to recap, Abraham was grieving too. He didn’t want his son grieving, so he got him a wife, as a result he becomes a drifter so to speak (explained in next point).
    7. Abrahams marriage to Keturah (Genesis 25: 1-6)
    8. Genesis 25:1-6N (NKJV) 25 Abraham again took a wife, and her name was And she bore him Zimran, Jokshan, Medan, Midian, Ishbak, and Shuah. Jokshan begot Sheba and Dedan. And the sons of Dedan were Asshurim, Letushim, and Leummim. And the sons of Midian were Ephah, Epher, Hanoch, Abidah, and Eldaah. All these were the children of Keturah.And Abraham gave all that he had to Isaac. But Abraham gave gifts to the sons of the concubines which Abraham had; and while he was still living he sent them eastward, away from Isaac his son, to the country of the east.
    9. Abraham marries Keturah. Keturah was believed to be a foreigner. Abraham had 6 children by her. Abraham was 100 yrs old when he had Isaac. Isaac was 40 when he got married, so Abraham has to be at least 140 yrs when he married Keturah and he is still able to have 6 children.
    10. Abraham not only had 6 kids by his wife, he had children by his concubines. Genesis 25:5-6 (NKJV) And Abraham gave all that he had to Isaac. But Abraham gave gifts to the sons of the concubines which Abraham had; and while he was still living he sent them eastward, away from Isaac his son, to the country of the east. – Abraham gave all that he had to Isaac. Abraham is the patriarch. He has a child named Ishmael by Hagar, he had Isaac by Sarah, and 6 kids by his wife Keturah.
    11. Abraham’s Death (Genesis 25: 7-11)

Genesis 25:7-11 (NKJV) This is the sum of the years of Abraham’s life which he lived: one hundred and seventy-five years. Then Abraham breathed his last and died in a good old age, an old man and full of years, and was gathered to his people. And his sons Isaac and Ishmael buried him in the cave of Machpelah, which is before Mamre, in the field of Ephron the son of Zohar the Hittite, 10 the field which Abraham purchased from the sons of Heth. There Abraham was buried, and Sarah his wife. 11 And it came to pass, after the death of Abraham, that God blessed his son Isaac. And Isaac dwelt at Beer Lahai Roi.

 

  1. Abraham died at the age 175. Isaac got his inheritance. Isaac was the one of promise, even though he was not the first born.
  2. Abraham is buried by his sons Isaac and Ishmael and though he had been remarried, Abraham was buried next to Sarah.
  3. Remember when the famine occurred and Abraham and his wife had to flee to Egypt? Well Isaac had to go to Gerar. Genesis 26:1-2 (NKJV) 26 There was a famine in the land, besides the first famine that was in the days of Abraham. And Isaac went to Abimelech king of the Philistines, in Gerar. Then the Lord appeared to him and said: “Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land of which I shall tell you. – Isaac goes to Gerar and he says that his wife is his sister, just like Abraham did. Both Isaac and Abraham lied and told people that their wives were their sister. See the parallels in their stories?
  4. Isaac sowed. Genesis 26:12 (NKJV) 12 Then Isaac sowed in that land, and reaped in the same year a hundredfold; and the Lord blessed him. – He sowed a seed in the land and reaped a 100 fold blessings. Your commerce was in your land in those days. If you got a harvest on your seed, you were really blessed.
  5. Isaac was so blessed, he was told to leave, because he had become to powerful. Genesis 26:13-14 (NKJV) 13 The man began to prosper, and continued prospering until he became very prosperous; 14 for he had possessions of flocks and possessions of herds and a great number of servants. So the Philistines envied him.
  6. Isaac and Rebekah ended up having a child. A barrenness came over Rebekah just like Sarah. She was barren and Isaac pleaded with the Lord for his wife. Genesis 25:21 (NKJV) 21 Now Isaac pleaded with the Lord for his wife, because she was barren; and the Lord granted his plea, and Rebekah his wife conceived. – Women: This is the type of man that you need. You need a man that can go to God on your behalf and as a result, something happens.
  7. The children were fighting in her womb. Genesis 25:22 (NKJV)22 But the children struggled together within her; and she said, “If all is well, why am I like this?” So she went to inquire of the Lord.. Thee is a sermon coming about fighting in the womb. The lord says tow nations are in your body. Genesis 25:24-26 (NKJV)24 So when her days were fulfilled for her to give birth, indeed there were twins in her womb. 25 And the first came out red. He was like a hairy garment all over; so they called his name Esau.[a] 26 Afterward his brother came out, and his hand took hold of Esau’s heel; so his name was called Jacob.[b] Isaac was sixty years old when she bore them. she had twins
  8. The birth of Jacob and Esau (Genesis 25)

The first born of Isaac and Rebekah were twins. Their names were Jacob and Esau.

  1. The first baby came out red with hair on his body. His name was Esau.
  2. The second to be born comes out and grabs Esau’s heel as if trying to pull Esau back in the womb.
  3. Isaac was 60 yrs old when they were born.
  • The Birthright and Blessing
  1. The selling of the birthright (Genesis 25: 29-34)

Genesis 25:29-34 (NKJV) 29 Now Jacob cooked a stew; and Esau came in from the field, and he was weary.  30 And Esau said to Jacob, “Please feed me with that same red stew, for I am weary.” Therefore his name was called Edom.[a] 31 But Jacob said, “Sell me your birthright as of this day.” 32 And Esau said, “Look, I am about to die; so what is this birthright to me?” 33 Then Jacob said, “Swear to me as of this day.” So he swore to him, and sold his birthright to Jacob.  34 And Jacob gave Esau bread and stew of lentils; then he ate and drank, arose, and went his way. Thus Esau despised his birthright.

  1. Esau was a worker and field hand. Jacob was the Momma’s boy. Isaac loved Esau, but Rebekah loved Jacob.
  2. One day Jacob was cooking stew. Esau came from the field hungry. He asks Jacob for something to eat. Genesis 25:30 (NKJV)30 And Esau said to Jacob, “Please feed me with that same red stew, for I am” Therefore his name was called Edom.[a] 31 But Jacob said, “Sell me your birthright as of this day.”- He got Esau to sell him his birthright. To understand the magnitude of this, imagine that you had a 100 million dollar inheritance and then you sell it for a happy meal.
  3. Esau’s Marriage (Genesis 26:34-35)
  4. Genesis 26:34-35 (NKJV) 34 When Esau was forty years old, he took as wives Judith the daughter of Beeri the Hittite, and Basemath the daughter of Elon the Hittite. 35 And they were a grief of mind to Isaac and Rebekah.- Esau got married at the age of 40. He took on wives. They didn’t have the 10 commandments yet., so this was acceptable then. He married daughters of the Hittites. When Isaac saw this, this grieved him.
  5. Isaac and Rebekah were concerned about the passing down of the blessing to him, because of how he married. He married into the family of the Hittites. In those days, they were serious about the passing down of the inheritance.

 

  1. The Transfer of the Blessing (Genesis 27)
  2. God allowed Esau to be tricked to transfer the blessing.
  3. Isaac is old in age by this time. He prepares to bless Esau, whom he loved. Remember Rebekah loved Jacob.
  4. In Genesis 27:9-13 (NKJV) it says Go now to the flock and bring me from there two choice kids of the goats, and I will make savory food from them for your father, such as he loves. 10 Then you shall take it to your father, that he may eat it, and that he may bless you before his death.”11 And Jacob said to Rebekah his mother, “Look, Esau my brother is a hairy man, and I am a smooth-skinned 12 Perhaps my father will feel me, and I shall seem to be a deceiver to him; and I shall bring a curse on myself and not a blessing.”13 But his mother said to him, “Let your curse be on me, my son; only obey my voice, and go, get them for me.” – They devised a plan to put skin on Jacob so he would feel like Esau. It was full of deception. Jacob was a trickster, because it was in his momma.

 

  1. Rebekah’s Plan to Save Jacob (Genesis 27:41-46)
  2. Genesis 27:41-46 (NKJV) 41 So Esau hated Jacob because of the blessing with which his father blessed him, and Esau said in his heart, “The days of mourning for my father are at hand; then I will kill my brother Jacob.” 42 And the words of Esau her older son were told to Rebekah. So she sent and called Jacob her younger son, and said to him, “Surely your brother Esau comforts himself concerning you by intending to kill you. 43 Now therefore, my son, obey my voice: arise, flee to my brother Laban in Haran. 44 And stay with him a few days, until your brother’s fury turns away, 45 until your brother’s anger turns away from you, and he forgets what you have done to him; then I will send and bring you from there. Why should I be bereaved also of you both in one day?” 46 And Rebekah said to Isaac, “I am weary of my life because of the daughters of Heth; if Jacob takes a wife of the daughters of Heth, like these who are the daughters of the land, what good will my life be to me?” – Isaac was tricked into blessing Jacob instead of Esau with the birthright.Rebekah sent Jacob away after the trick so he journeys to Leban’s house. Leban was Rebekah’s brother.

Genesis 28:1-5 (NKJV) 28 Then Isaac called Jacob and blessed him, and charged him, and said to him: “You shall not take a wife from the daughters of Canaan. Arise, go to Padan Aram, to the house of Bethuel your mother’s father; and take yourself a wife from there of the daughters of Laban your mother’s brother.“May God Almighty bless you, And make you fruitful and multiply you, That you may be an assembly of peoples; And give you the blessing of Abraham, To you and your descendants with you, That you may inherit the land In which you are a stranger,
Which God gave to Abraham.”So Isaac sent Jacob away, and he went to Padan Aram, to Laban the son of Bethuel the Syrian, the brother of Rebekah, the mother of Jacob and Esau.

  1. A New Life for Jacob
  2. The Journey to Laban’s House
  3. Isaac’s Blessing and Charge to Jacob (Genesis 28:1-5)

Genesis 28:1-5 (NKJV) 28 Then Isaac called Jacob and blessed him, and charged him, and said to him: “You shall not take a wife from the daughters of Canaan. Arise, go to Padan Aram, to the house of Bethuel your mother’s father; and take yourself a wife from there of the daughters of Laban your mother’s brother.“May God Almighty bless you,And make you fruitful and multiply you,That you may be an assembly of peoples;And give you the blessing of Abraham, To you and your descendants with you, That you may inherit the landIn which you are a stranger, Which God gave to Abraham.” So Isaac sent Jacob away, and he went to Padan Aram, to Laban the son of Bethuel the Syrian, the brother of Rebekah, the mother of Jacob and Esau.

  1. Jacob’s Dream (Genesis 28: 10-17)

 Genesis 28:10-17 (NKJV) Jacob’s Vow at Bethel 10 Now Jacob went out from Beersheba and went toward Haran. 11 So he came to a certain place and stayed there all night, because the sun had set. And he took one of the stones of that place and put it at his head, and he lay down in that place to sleep. 12 Then he dreamed, and behold, a ladder was set up on the earth, and its top reached to heaven; and there the angels of God were ascending and descending on it. 13 And behold, the Lord stood above it and said: “I am the Lord God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac; the land on which you lie I will give to you and your descendants. 14 Also your descendants shall be as the dust of the earth; you shall spread abroad to the west and the east, to the north and the south; and in you and in your seed all the families of the earth shall be blessed. 15 Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have spoken to you.” 16 Then Jacob awoke from his sleep and said, “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.17 And he was afraid and said, “How awesome is this place! This is none other than the house of God, and this is the gate of heaven!”Jacob is on the run from Esau. She sent him to Laban house. He gets to Laban house and looks out in field and sees this beautiful woman. Here name was Rachel.

  1. Jacob Meets Rachel (Genesis 29:9-20)

Genesis 29:9-20 (NKJV)9 Now while he was still speaking with them, Rachel came with her father’s sheep, for she was a shepherdess.  10 And it came to pass, when Jacob saw Rachel the daughter of Laban his mother’s brother, and the sheep of Laban his mother’s brother, that Jacob went near and rolled the stone from the well’s mouth, and watered the flock of Laban his mother’s brother.  11 Then Jacob kissed Rachel, and lifted up his voice and wept.  12 And Jacob told Rachel that he was her father’s relative and that he was Rebekah’s son. So she ran and told her father.13 Then it came to pass, when Laban heard the report about Jacob his sister’s son, that he ran to meet him, and embraced him and kissed him, and brought him to his house. So he told Laban all these things.  14 And Laban said to him, “Surely you are my bone and my flesh.” And he stayed with him for a month. 15 Then Laban said to Jacob, “Because you are my relative, should you therefore serve me for nothing? Tell me, what should your wages be?”  16 Now Laban had two daughters: the name of the elder was Leah, and the name of the younger was Rachel.  17 Leah’s eyes were delicate, but Rachel was beautiful of form and appearance.18 Now Jacob loved Rachel; so he said, “I will serve you seven years for Rachel your younger daughter.”19 And Laban said, “It is better that I give her to you than that I should give her to another man. Stay with me.”  20 So Jacob served seven years for Rachel, and they seemed only a few days to him because of the love he had for her.

  1. Jacob asks Laban for Rachael’s hand in marriage, but Laban says he has to work 7 yrs for her.
  2. Jacob goes into the tent to consummate his marriage with Rachael and afterwards, he finds it is Leah and not Rachael.
  3. The Trickster is Tricked (Genesis 29:21-30)

Genesis 29:21-30 (NKJV)21 Then Jacob said to Laban, “Give me my wife, for my days are fulfilled, that I may go in to her.”  22 And Laban gathered together all the men of the place and made a feast.  23 Now it came to pass in the evening, that he took Leah his daughter and brought her to Jacob; and he went in to her.  24 And Laban gave his maid Zilpah to his daughter Leah as a maid.  25 So it came to pass in the morning, that behold, it was Leah. And he said to Laban, “What is this you have done to me? Was it not for Rachel that I served you? Why then have you deceived me?”26 And Laban said, “It must not be done so in our country, to give the younger before the firstborn.  27 Fulfill her week, and we will give you this one also for the service which you will serve with me still another seven years.” 28 Then Jacob did so and fulfilled her week. So he gave him his daughter Rachel as wife also.  29 And Laban gave his maid Bilhah to his daughter Rachel as a maid.  30 Then Jacob also went in to Rachel, and he also loved Rachel more than Leah. And he served with Laban still another seven years.

  1. Jacob is furious because he is tricked. Laban informs Jacob that the oldest (Leah) must be married first. Genesis 29:17 (NKJV)17 Leah’s eyes were delicate, but Rachel was beautiful of form and appearance says she is tender eyed.
  2. Laban says that Jacob has to work 7 more years to get Rachel. Jacob went back into the field to be able to marry Rachel whom he loved. This ought to remind women a little something about their worth.
  3. Leah is now the rejected one.

 

  1. The making of the Twelve Tribes of Israel: Leah and Jacobs’s Children ( Genesis 29:31 – 30:31)
  2. Genesis 29:31-30 (NKJV) 31 When the Lord saw that Leah was unloved, He opened her womb; but Rachel was 32 So Leah conceived and bore a son, and she called his name Reuben;[a] for she said, “The Lord has surely looked on my affliction. Now therefore, my husband will love me.” 33 Then she conceived again and bore a son, and said, “Because the Lord has heard that I am unloved, He has therefore given me this son also.” And she called his name Simeon.[b] 34 She conceived again and bore a son, and said, “Now this time my husband will become attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.” Therefore his name was called Levi.[c] 35 And she conceived again and bore a son, and said, “Now I will praise the Lord.” Therefore she called his name Judah.[d] Then she stopped bearing.
  3. Genesis 30:31 says 30 Now when Rachel saw that she bore Jacob no children, Rachel envied her sister, and said to Jacob, “Give me children, or else I die!”And Jacob’s anger was aroused against Rachel, and he said, “Am I in the place of God, who has withheld from you the fruit of the womb?”So she said, “Here is my maid Bilhah; go in to her, and she will bear a child on my knees, that I also may have children by her.” Then she gave him Bilhah her maid as wife, and Jacob went in to her. And Bilhah conceived and bore Jacob a son. Then Rachel said, “God has judged my case; and He has also heard my voice and given me a son.” Therefore she called his name Dan.[e] And Rachel’s maid Bilhah conceived again and bore Jacob a second son. Then Rachel said, “With great wrestlings I have wrestled with my sister, and indeed I have prevailed.” So she called his name Naphtali.[f]9 When Leah saw that she had stopped bearing, she took Zilpah her maid and gave her to Jacob as wife. 10 And Leah’s maid Zilpah bore Jacob a son. 11 Then Leah said, “A troop comes!”[g] So she called his name Gad.[h] 12 And Leah’s maid Zilpah bore Jacob a second son. 13 Then Leah said, “I am happy, for the daughters will call me blessed.” So she called his name Asher.[i]14 Now Reuben went in the days of wheat harvest and found mandrakes in the field, and brought them to his mother Leah. Then Rachel said to Leah, “Please give me some of your son’s mandrakes.”15 But she said to her, “Is it a small matter that you have taken away my husband? Would you take away my son’s mandrakes also?”And Rachel said, “Therefore he will lie with you tonight for your son’s mandrakes.”16 When Jacob came out of the field in the evening, Leah went out to meet him and said, “You must come in to me, for I have surely hired you with my son’s mandrakes.” And he lay with her that night. 17 And God listened to Leah, and she conceived and bore Jacob a fifth son. 18 Leah said, “God has given me my wages, because I have given my maid to my husband.” So she called his name Issachar.[j] 19 Then Leah conceived again and bore Jacob a sixth son. 20 And Leah said, “God has endowed me with a good endowment; now my husband will dwell with me, because I have borne him six sons.” So she called his name Zebulun.[k] 21 Afterward she bore a daughter, and called her name Dinah.22 Then God remembered Rachel, and God listened to her and opened her womb. 23 And she conceived and bore a son, and said, “God has taken away my reproach.” 24 So she called his name Joseph,[l] and said, “The Lord shall add to me another son.”Jacob’s Agreement with Laban25 And it came to pass, when Rachel had borne Joseph, that Jacob said to Laban, “Send me away, that I may go to my own place and to my country. 26 Give me my wives and my children for whom I have served you, and let me go; for you know my service which I have done for you.” 27 And Laban said to him, “Please stay, if I have found favor in your eyes, for I have learned by experience that the Lord has blessed me for your sake.” 28 Then he said, “Name me your wages, and I will give ”29 So Jacob said to him, “You know how I have served you and how your livestock has been with me. 30 For what you had before I came was little, and it has increased to a great amount; the Lord has blessed you since my coming. And now, when shall I also provide for my own house?”31 So he said, “What shall I give you?”And Jacob said, “You shall not give me anything. If you will do this thing for me, I will again feed and keep your flocks: – Sarah is barren. Rebekah is barren. Racheal is barren, but Leah is fertile. The one that Jacob loves can’t get him children, but she has position. The one he doesn’t love (Leah), has function.
    1. He went in to Leah and had children with her even though he did not like her.
    2. Every name in Hebrew means something. When they named somebody, they thought about generation.
    3. Leah, is in love with a trickster. She tried to use the babies to make Jacob love her. As a result:
      1. Leah has a baby and names him Ruben. Ruben means “to see”. She thinks, maybe Jacob will see her.
      2. She has another baby and names him Simeon which means “to hear”. She thinks maybe Jacob will hear her (Gen 29:33). What are you doing to get somebody to hear you?
  • Now Leah has another baby and calls him Levi which means “to be joined together” (Ge. 29:35).
  1. Leah has yet another child and calls him Judah which means “to praise God”. She decided on this one she would give him to God and stop trying to please Jacob.

 

 

 

  • Conclusion

It is tender-eyed Leah who is rejected. She was always in the shadow of her sister and she was always rejected. However, it is her bloodline who eventually begot King David and it was King David’s bloodline who eventually gave birth to Jesus.

This ought to teach us something very important. We need to be careful who we reject, because you never know what God may birth through them. Through the blood line of rejected Leah would come the ultimate sacrifice, the very thing needed to reconcile mankind back to God!

[1]

About growintheword

I consider myself a Christian with an envangelistic calling. I like music, art, and computers. I belive that God gives us our gifts so that they may be used for his glory. It is my desire that everyone in the world comes to know God and have a personal relationship with him by means of music, evangelistic ministry, and by understanding the word of God.
This entry was posted in Genesis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

